Getting inside Jen’s mind

I recently self-published my first novel on Amazon.com, “Leaving Eva.” It’s a story that’s been bubbling inside of me for years, and one day I finally starting clicking away at the keyboard. Suddenly Eva came out.

I’ve always been pretty private about myself, about my life, for most of my life. Self publishing was a big step for me in joining this very voyeuristic world that we live in, and I was uncomfortable at first. I’m a pretty social person, working very closely with people every day, in my grown up job. But private about myself and about my thoughts. Writing a novel meant that I had to bare a little bit of my soul to the world, terrifying to say the least.

So a blog seems pretty ironic to me.

But I decided to start one as a way to connect. As a way to improve my writing and drive my passion. I’m realizing that by being so closed off most of my adult life that I’ve been missing out on a lot. ‘

So I wrote this book. It’s not a romantic comedy, or a sexy thriller or a love story. It’s ugly, and sad, and downright depressing at times. It’s about loss, and love, and being lost in your fear and in your own mind. I wrote it because I needed to and because it just came out as easily as breathing, sometimes. I wrote it because I was abandoned as a child at the same age as the main character and I needed to exorcise some demons.

I don’t know who will follow this blog. It’s just about me and my thoughts about life, about family, about writing, and about anything I can think of to write about. Writing has always been a passion, a salvation, and a way to lose myself in order to keep myself sane.

Welcome to my blog. I hope you will visit often and lend me your feedback and your comments whenever you feel inspired to do so!

20130523-001255.jpg

2 thoughts on “Getting inside Jen’s mind

  1. Jen, I believe you have so much to share! I can’t wait to see what’s next for Eva and for you! I admire the brave leap of faith in both by sharing Eva with us and sharing more of yourself! I’ll be here listening for more and cheering you on! Love ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

