A Beach Calls…

I need a vacation.

Wait… I NEED a vacation.

No, wait… I NEED a VACATION!!!!!

The last time I went away was to NYC with the crazy, fun women in my family. It was a blast, but it was during a difficult time in my life. My mind was mostly in Manhatten, but never too far from where I was trying to escape. That’s the funny thing about “getting away.” When you’re on a vacation, you never can truly get away from yourself, or the things that plague you. They always seem to find you no matter where you are.

But as life ebbs and flows, and that time has now passed… I realize that it’s been awhile since I’ve had a proper vacation. I need the kind of vacation where I can close my eyes, clear my mind, lie in the sun, and listen to the sound of crashing waves for about six hours. Normally I would be concerned about the fact that I’m even close to being swimsuit-worthy. But I don’t even care about that. I just need some blue sky and some clear water, with zero obligations, even just for a day.

Or two.

It’s been a long time. Too long to have escaped the grind of daily life and adult responsibilities. I watch my children play sometimes and I love how carefree and relaxed they get to be. There is nothing in the world that they need to be concerned about… at least, not yet. I know that they are lucky. A lot of children have adult concerns when they shouldn’t. But children should just be kids-happy and free. They shouldn’t be burdened by the heaviness a lifetime weighs upon us.

I remember the days when I had no one to worry about, but me. They went so fast without me even realizing it. And now I am a grown up with adult problems and responsibilities. I’m a mother, wife, boss, writer, and daughter. Finding the time to clear my mind is difficult because it’s always racing from one role or thought, directly to the next. But that is who I am. I’ve never been able to relax. I’ve always been a high energy, high strung, multiple hat-wearing kind of girl.

As ironic as it may seem, I do find my zen in my family. They are my beach in many ways. They calm and center me almost as much as I imagine the waves of the bluest ocean, would do. They also toss me around like those waves, but I love every wonderful moment of it. I feel so amazingly fortunate to have to have my husband and children. I wouldn’t trade them for anything. Their presence gives me purpose and peace.

I also find peace in writing. In telling a story, or blogging, or imagining an idea. I love the entire process of creating something out of nothing. It calms my mind and cleans out the dust in the corners in ways that I don’t understand. But being at peace is one thing, while relaxing completely, is another.

Truth be told, I would love to learn exactly how to relax. My entire life, I’ve never been able to. I know that is what a beach and the sound of crashing waves would do for me right now. I know that I deserve it, I’ve worked hard for it, and I need it. I’ve been hearing a beach call my name for many months now. It’s beckoning me to sit by her blue water, dig my feet into her soft warm sand, and do nothing but breathe.

Breathe.

So, until I get there, I’m going to take a moment every day to imagine the sun on my face. I’m going to imagine that feeling you get after a full day of warm, sweet nothingness. And I’m going to wish myself there, very soon.

Very, very soon.

47 thoughts on “A Beach Calls…

  1. OMG! vacation, whats that?? Id love to be able to lay on a beach on the coast of Greece and eat fresh seafood. tour the countryside. travel to Italy, take some cooking classes. tour a vineyard. go to museums. relax. eat, get fat. sleep. 🙂

    Like

    • Tiffany-if you go, can I go with you?!? OMG- that sounds like a BEAUTIFUL vacation! I may have officially changed my mind on the beach!!!!! Thank you for giving me something else to think about!!!

      Like

  2. I’m buried in 6 inches of snow right now….in the SOUTH, so a beach trip sounds heavenly to me right now. Perhaps I’ll wish my way back to the gulf coast this summer. You’ve got me wishing for sure!

    Like

  3. I have many, many different dream vacations…the one where I go by myself (two kids and six deployments, I’ve earned it!), the one where it’s just the hubby and I (the kids are 10 and 12, we’ve never left them for more than a night), the one where the four of us go somewhere for family fun…

    Then there’s location. I’m terribly homesick so I really want to go to Seattle. And I’m terribly homesick for my “second” home, which is Japan. But I’d really love several weeks in Europe, or I’m tired of winter and the foot of snow we got last night so somewhere warm and tropical would be nice…

    Maybe I should just go buy a Power Ball ticket!

    Like

    • Christina,
      First off- thank you so much for your service. I have family who lead military lives, so I know how much you give.
      Second-I also have several dream vacations. I have the ones that are non-kid related and then ones that are family specific. I can’t wait to do any of them. I just need to clear the cobwebs out of my mind.
      I would even love a stay-cation to do nothin but write… 🙂 Writing helps to empty my mind too!
      I did go in on a powerball ticket. If I win, I’m leaving tomorrow!!!! I’m sick of snow!

      Like

  4. My dream vacation would be two weeks in Hawaii. When you can watch the whales! I have always wanted to do that. And the beach and a plain tour of the island seeing all the waterfalls! I would be in Heaven !

    Like

    • That sounds awesome! I have always thought that whale watching would be so cool. I think I would be terrified though, if I was doing it from a boat. Thank you so much for sharing. I hope you get to go on your dream vacation!!!

      Like

      • It would definitely get your blood pumping! It would be a rush to see a huge animal that big close and personal! I love doing things I will never forget even at 47yrs old my friends and family think I’m crazy! I’m so layed back and quiet reader till someone says “let’s do something wild” !!

        Like

      • There are certain things I know that I would never do (I.e. BASE jump, sky dive, etc) but I would be open to swimming with dolphins and seeing gigantic whales. I like my feet planted on terra firma… But I’m definitely all about tasking risks. 🙂

        Like

  5. I agree, life sometimes gets crazy insane and as wife’s, mothers, family members we tend to put us last! Getting away even if it is just a mini vacation in your mind is needed for us. We have to stay the rocks to hold our family togather, the captain to help steer us all to the right decisions, the teacher to help instill the positive traits in out children and the spectator, to hold back and watch our children while hoping and praying we have done our best at teaching them. Then lastly we are the counselor here to help those we love by giving advice or just simply listening. In all of this we forget our batteries need to be charged, that we too need to find piece and to give ourselves permission to turn to others for help. So remember to take a minute each day to devote to you!

    Like

    • Kassi,
      That’s such great advice! You are so right. I think we are often so busy taking care of everyone else that we forget that we are important too! The better we are, we can be for others. Thank you so much for such a beautiful reminder!! ❤️

      Like

  6. My dream vacation has always been to one of those private bungalows out in the middle of the water in Fiji. Its funny my husband and I were just discussing this the other day about how we could turn it into a 10 day vacation and visit Australia as well. If only… hopefully one day 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

