31 Day Countdown to the CAE…Do I amuse you….?

Only 31 days until the big event! Yesterday, I blogged that I would share something about myself everyday.

I figured I would start the next 31 days off right and come clean, with a confession.

So here it goes… I’m not very funny. If you’ve read any of my books, you would probably have guessed that I’m not very funny. I don’t think about or write things that are funny. But I LOVE to laugh, great big loud belly laughs, and I absolutely adore funny people.

Funny people are a wonderful muse. They’re inspirational and gifted and they just make life better. If I’m lucky, I can squeak out a one liner now and again but that’s about as much as my funny bone surfaces. Funny people remind us that life is worth living and there is a reason for the pain we have to endure.

But I laugh easily and I search for levity in most things. Best of all, I try not to take myself too seriously, which is good because my husband and my youngest son are the comedians of the family. The harder I try, the less funny I am so I don’t expect to make people laugh. But when they do, especially children or funny people, it feels wonderful! I love making my boys laugh, but potty humor is something that I can do well, so I do it often. But I don’t write it.

I write drama, angst, sadness, and pain because it’s what comes naturally and it’s where I can get lost. It’s unlikely that I will purposely ever amuse anyone with my writing, but I’ve learned to never say never.

Leave a Reply

