Day 30 Golden Silence

Let us be silent that we may hear the whispers of the gods.
~Ralph Waldo Emerson

I’m a short woman and in my experience, short women love to talk. Sometimes it’s the only way the rest of the world knows we are here when we can’t be seen.

And I’m definitely one of those women. I LOVE to talk, as anyone who knows me can attest.

But there is something to be said for sweet beautiful silence. And as much as I love words, sometimes I crave quiet even more.

I drive home from work in complete silence. And when nobody is home, but me, I often sit and revel in the quiet and collect my thoughts.

I have a brain that never stops. The noise in my head can be deafening, so the silence is soothing. Without it, the constant noise would obliterate me.

As I continue the countdown to the Cleveland Author Event, the excitement has the potential to overwhelm me. But as I’m immersed in the nothingness of the quiet, I am able to find myself once again.

Leave a Reply

