30 Day Writing Challenge-Books I loved and Didn’t 

I’ve been holding this in for far too long. I didn’t finish The Host by Stephanie Myer. I also haven’t finished 11/22/63 by Stephen King. I hate admitting it because I wanted to love both books so much but I found myself wandering off every time I would start them. 

(Pause, so you can throw fruit at me)

Okay, I feel better now.

I really think that it’s probably all about timing with both books and I’ve had readers who dnf the ones I’ve written. I get it. We don’t connect with every book we read but I truly did want to love both of those books, and will likely try and read them both again. I respect both authors so much and love their other works, so I’m hopeful that I’ll connect with the books when I’m meant to. 

Books that I love. 

I know that the post is only about one but that’s like asking me to pick my favorite child. It just can’t be done, or it depends on the day, either way they’re all my favorites. 

I’m currently rereading The Witching Hour by Anne Rice, which I love and have read often over the years. I used to reread East of Eden by John Steinbeck often, but haven’t revisited that classic in many years. I’ve recently read Deadbeat Dates and Deities by my good friend JC Wing, that is both smart and funny. I also love books like The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis and Letters Written in White by Kathryn Perez that capture your imagination, even long after you’ve read them.

One of my favorite books is The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I just love the story about deep love, possibility, and frustration. I love Claire and Henry and wish desperately that they could coexist in the same time period for just a little while longer than what they have, but then there would be no story. Maybe I’m a bit masochistic but the impossible love story is my favorite story of all time. 

I find that I’ve always been drawn to books that speak to me about love, loss, the unimaginable, and the impossible. Those are also the books that I love to write. I guess I’m a sucker for angsty stories, but I also love books that are clever and fun,  as well as books that will stay with me for a lifetime. That’s the beauty of books;  they comfort you, teach you, and expand your heart and mind, and if you find the right one, it’ll change you forever.

2 thoughts on “30 Day Writing Challenge-Books I loved and Didn’t 

Leave a Reply

