30 Day Writing Challenge-A Quote to Live By

There’s something you should know about me. 

I LOOOOOOVE quotes. I don’t often post or cite them, but I find something soothing and lyrical about those simple bits of wisdom from others. I keep them hidden in my heart for comfort and warmth and pull them out when I need them the most.

I especially love quotes from Ralph Waldo Emerson, Robert Frost, Helen Keller, Dr. Seuss, Maya Angelou, and the list goes on. I used to keep a book of my favorite quotes when I was younger in my  search for inspiration and wisdom, and even nor a quote will stay with me reminding me to be strong, or grateful, or kind. Words have always been one of my  passions and I love reading those of others whether they be poetic, wise, or insightful. 
The quote I love the most, that I carry with me every day is one by Maya Angelou. 

I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.

I think about it when I want to be angry, ugly, or nasty, and it think about it when I don’t. I don’t always make the right choices but I try. 

I also often think of Ms. Angelou’s words when I think about giving up on writing. 

There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.

I remind myself of what it felt like when I stopped any how frustrated I felt with life. 

One of my favorites though not necessarily a quote is the end of Robert Frost’s poem, The Road Not Taken

I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

This reminds me that every decision in my life takes me down a different road and that every decision makes all the difference.

I hope that I get to make a difference, which is why I’m drawn to both the Maya Angelou and Robert Frost quotes. I wonder why else we would be here unless it’s to matter to someone and to have some type of significance. Even if my contribution is small, these words remind me not to be selfish and that my decisions affect others. 

Even if I only inspire my children, that will truly have made all of the difference for me.

Leave a Reply

