30 Day Writing Challenge-Things I Miss

Before I begin, I have to say that I have such mad respect for my fellow writers, JC Wing and AK Lawrence who tackled a very difficult topic yesterday about a family member they dislike. To lay it all out, with so much raw emotion is what beautiful writing is all about. I wimped out and that’s all I’ll say about that, but some serious mad props to both of them for their beauty, strength, and honesty. (Both posts are linked to their names).

Today’s post is about things I miss. 

I don’t miss much in my life. I’m a live-in-the-now kind of girl. I try and enjoy the path that I’m currently on so that it doesn’t pass me by. 

But if I had to choose a few things I would say that I miss the following:

  • My grandmother’s hands. They were soft and pretty. When I was little I used to play with her rings, twirling them around her fingers, enjoying her closeness. I used to straighten them up so that they all lined up perfectly, and then would have to re-do it when they turned again. I wear her original wedding band, now. And every morning when I put it on I think of her,  her soft hands, her good heart, and how much I miss having her in my life. 
  • The unbridled happiness of my children when they were toddlers. They found joy in everything and had tears for nothing. They had no need to be sad, lonely, or worried. As they grow, I know that fear and unhappiness becomes a part of life, but I miss the days when they had no concerns, upsets, or worries.
  • Silence and solitude. My youngest is a lot like me in this way. He likes to be alone for hours on end and always has. I believe that I could go days in silence if I could, without speaking or sound. I miss the quietness that comes with solitude, which may come as a great surprise to many. I do tend to be an extrovert and I also love social interaction. But I also need to recharge and be alone with my thoughts, which doesn’t happen nearly as often as I would like, but I also understand that being needed is a good thing, and I’m not complaining. 

Those would be the three things I miss the most in life. I could also say that I miss being able to eat whatever I want, whenever I want. 😆😆😆

For all of the things I miss, I’ve found many other things that fulfill me. But I don’t think I’ll ever stop missing my Grandma’s hands. 

Leave a Reply

