30 Day WritingChallenge-Tattoos

I don’t have any tattoos.

I always said that if I didn’t have one by the age of thirty that I wouldn’t get one and  that ship has long sailed. Nothing of great significance happened to me before I was thirty that I wanted to memorialize with any permanence.

Since then, much has happened to change me and I’ve changed my mind. I would get a tattoo, but just haven’t … yet. 

My sisters (in-law) and a I discussed getting Sisters tattoos on our feet, which I would still love to do. 

I’m a big fan of the tattoos on the back of your neck, though I don’t think that’s me. The best tattoo I ever saw was a lovely woman’s grandmother’s signature on the back of her neck. It was a beautiful tribute to her grandmother. 


I’ve contemplated getting a similar one on the inside of my wrist, with my grandma’s I Love You and her Xs and Os, that she sighed every letter she wrote me with. 


Some may be surprised with my affinity for tattoos, but I’ve always liked them and am always curious about what they mean to the person who has them. The more personal, the better, in my opinion.

Who knows, maybe I’ll get one someday. In the meantime, I’ll continue to admire them on others and ask their story about why they got it. For now, that’s good enough for me. 

2 thoughts on “30 Day WritingChallenge-Tattoos

  1. I got one on the inside of my left arm some 30 years ago, when I was in the Army. I don’t regret getting A tattoo, but I do regret THIS tattoo, because it doesn’t have any special meaning for me. I love hearing tattoo stories though. Best one I’ve ever hear was a guy who had the waveform of his late son’s laugh tattooed over his heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

